10-Time National Baseball Congress World Series Champions

Foresters make it a third straight shutout, beat Clarinda A’s 3-0

Player pitching

Forester RBI leader Louie Lechich continued to produce for the Santa Barbara Foresters in the third round of the 2013 NBC World Series, driving in the game’s first run in the fourth inning on the game’s first hit. From there, the Foresters pitching staff continued its dominance in Wichita on the way to a 3-0 victory against the Clarinda A’s.

Keaton Siomkin took the mound, four days after pitching an inning in relief in the tournament opener, and continued his climb up the Foresters single-season strikeout list. Siomkin struck out six, pushing his season total to 63 and placing himself six all time. Scattering four hits in his seven innings, no A’s base runner managed to reach third base with Siomkin in the game.

The right-hander from Cal Berkeley continued the Foresters streak of scoreless inning pitched, extending the streak to 26 before the bullpen made it 28 straight. The Forester staff has also allowed only 10 hits in the three NBC games.

Patrick Weigel entered in the eighth inning, striking out the first batter he faced. Hunter Lemke entered in the ninth for his third appearance in three games to earn the save.

Lechich’s single and, eventual run scored on a Shane Hoelscher groundout, provided the earliest runs scored in a game by the Foresters since clinching the California Collegiate League North Division on July 26 against the Santa Paula Halos. Lechich finished the game 1-for-3 with a walk, RBI and run scored. He now has 35 RBIs on the year for the Foresters.

The fifth inning brought another run home as Joey Epperson leadoff the inning with a single and moved to second on a groundout by Austin Darby. With two outs, Colt Atwood singled past Clarinda shortstop Blake Trahan to push the score to 3-0.

Santa Barbara now moves on to face the Seattle Sounds, who they defeated in the 2012 NBC World Series final, Wednesday, Aug. 7 at 10 p.m. in Wichita. The game will determine the winner of the winner’s bracket and be the only remaining undefeated team in the double-elimination tournament.

© 2024
Santa Barbara Foresters | All Rights Reserved