10-Time National Baseball Congress World Series Champions

National Champs!

Players celebrating

The Foresters have won the 2011 NBC Championship, defeating the Kenai Oilers 1-0.

The Santa Barbara Foresters captured their third national title on Saturday with a 1-0 win over the Kenai Oilers in the championship game at the NBC World Series in Wichita, Kansas.

The Foresters only run came in the bottom of the first inning. Brett Vertigan led off with a single. Nipomo High graduate Jeff McNeil followed with a bunt single as Vertigan advanced to third on a throwing error by the pitcher. Jeff McVaney drove in Vertigan with a run-scoring grounder to second base.

That was the only run of the game as Mitch Mormann and Spenser Messmore combined on a four-hit shutout. Mormann went 7 innings, walked 1, struck out 4 and scattered 4 hits.

“We weren’t playing our best coming into this tournament and these guys really turned it up I’m really proud of them the way they turned it up and their focus and did what they had to do. We won big in this tournament and we won small like tonight 1-0,” said Santa Barbara head coach Bill Pintard. His team endured a bus ride to Wichita, played in 103 degree weather, sat through a lightning storm and weather delays and finished some games after midnight.

Santa Barbara added a 2011 title to its championships from 2006 and 2008.

© 2024
Santa Barbara Foresters | All Rights Reserved